Pin It
St. Vincent, Daddy’s Home
St. VincentPhoto Zackery Michael

St. Vincent shares ‘Pay Your Way In Pain’ video and new album details

The first single arrives alongside a release date and track list for the MASSEDUCTION follow-up

Last week, St. Vincent (real name Annie Clark) announced her upcoming album Daddy’s Home with a poster campaign, followed this week (March 2) by a bleak trailer for new music. Now, that music has arrived in the form of the record’s first single, “Pay Your Way In Pain”.

“Pay Your Way In Pain” comes alongside 70s-inspired visuals directed by Bill Benz. Benz previously directed the 2020 satirical concert tour film The Nowhere Inn, written by (and starring) Clark and Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein. The new video is just the introduction to the “visual world” of Daddy’s Home though, explains a press release.

The full, much-anticipated follow-up to 2017’s MASSEDUCTION  is set to release on May 14, 2021, via Loma Vista Recordings. Clark reportedly began writing the album’s songs in 2019, following the release of her father after a nine year stint in prison. She also taps his record collection – “music made in sepia-toned downtown New York from 1971-1975” – for inspiration.

Daddy’s Home collects stories of being down and out in downtown NYC,” says the musician. “Last night’s heels on the morning train. Glamour that’s been up for three days straight.”

Daddy’s Home is produced by Clark and her MASSEDUCTION collaborator Jack Antonoff. Watch the video for the first single, “Pay Your Way In Pain”, below.

The Daddy’s Home track list is:

1. “Pay Your Way In Pain”
2. “Down And Out Downtown”
3. “Daddy’s Home”
4. “Live In the Dream”
5. “The Melting Of The Sun”
6. “The Laughing Man”
7. “Down”
8. “Somebody Like Me”
9. “My Baby Wants A Baby”
10. “…At The Holiday Party”
11. “Candy Darling”