Pin It
The Smile You Will Never Work In Television Again

Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and Tom Skinner share The Smile’s first single

Listen to ‘You Will Never Work In Television Again’

Surprise! The first single from The Smile, a new project from Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, and Sons of Kemet drummer Tom Skinner, has just dropped.

Produced by longtime Radiohead collaborator Nigel Godrich, “You Will Never Work In Television Again” is released via XL Recordings, and is the first studio material to emerge from the trio after making their surprise debut performance during a Glastonbury livestream last year.

An album from the group is also confirmed, after they tweeted, “The Smile album is at the track-listing stage (6227020800 possible song orders)” – which smarter individuals than this author have worked out means there are 13 tracks.

The group have also revealed plans to play three live shows in 15 hours at new London venue Magazine on January 29 and 30. The shows, taking place in the round in front of a seated audience, will also be broadcast via livestream.

As part of a recent reissue of two albums, KID A MNESIA, Radiohead fans were treated to an unconventional array of merch including a custom china set, biscuit tin, and cross stitch kit. The 20th anniversary celebrations also featured a virtual exhibition, billed as “an upside-down digital/analogue universe”.

Watch the lyric video for “You Will Never Work In Television Again”: