Pin It
Lana Del Rey - spring/summer 2017
Lana wears chiffon and ostrich feather dress Prada, earrings Gillian HorsupPhotography Charlotte Wales, styling Robbie Spencer

Lana Del Rey shares three new songs from upcoming album, Blue Banisters

The singer drops the title track alongside fresh singles ‘Text Book’ and ‘Wildflower Wildfire’

Lana Del Rey has released three new songs, described as “buzz tracks” in anticipation of her forthcoming eighth studio album. The new, unexpected singles include the record’s title track, “Blue Banisters”, as well as “Text Book” and “Wildflower Wildfire”.

The singer originally announced Blue Banisters shortly after the release of her latest album, Chemtrails Over the Country Club. Another record, Rock Candy Sweet, was also teased just days after the arrival of Chemtrails, though it’s unclear if it’s a separate project or an earlier incarnation of Blue Banisters.

Marking a departure from Del Rey’s collaborative streak with Jack Antonoff, two of the new songs — “Blue Banisters” and “Text Book” — are co-written and produced by Gabriel Edward Simon. “Wildflower Wildfire” sees her link up with the veteran producer (and Kanye West collaborator) Mike Dean.

One of the songs, “Text Book”, has already drawn attention on social media for a lyric stating: “There we were, screaming ‘Black Lives Matter’ in the crowd.” Lana Del Rey has previously come under fire for her commentary on racial issues, including her pre-emptive statement on the Chemtrails album cover and its apparent lack of diversity.

Blue Banisters is scheduled to arrive in full on July 4, according to Del Rey’s previous announcement. Listen to the three new tracks below.