Pin It

Lee Foss Top Five

One half of electronic production duo Hot Natured with Jamie Jones gives us his pick of this year's summer tunes

Besides playing festivals like Lovebox and Glastonbury, to Bar 25 in Berlin and Freak n'Chic boat parties in Paris, one half of Hot Natured, Lee Foss has just blagged the residency for London's Kubicle nights formerly held at T Bar, as well as Sands Ibiza. Returning with his new solo EP, 'U Got Me' released on his and Jamie Jones' own label Hot Creations, expect a 4-track deep house wonder made up of unabashed catchy vocals, groovey basslines, melodic synths and of course their trademark galactic bleeps, whilst Hot Natured's equally summery 'Equilibrium' EP is also out on Droog's LA label Culprit.

Foss gives Dazed Digital his top five tracks for the soundtrack to summer 2010 including releases from ex-Dazed music editor's Damian Lazarus' label Crosstown Rebels, alongside an hour-long 'Keep It Deep' mix.

Top Five Tracks for Summer:
1) Lee Foss - Happen For a Reason (Hot Creations) 
This is on my Hot Creations EP out next month. It's got a strong personal meaning for me, and of the songs on the EP, it's the one thats getting the biggest reaction. It's nice when you put emotion into your work and you get something special out of it.

2) Hot Natured - B4 The Bentley
Not sure when this is coming out as its not quite finished, but Jamie and I have both been playing it loads and it definitely gets a unique reaction. Probably the best case of our styles mixing together. Really strong bassline, keys, and vocal sample.

3) Robert James - Sleep Moods (Hot Creations) 
This is a really special track from Rob, one of those that can be played in any situation with one of the best basslines of the year. Nice build and vocal, can't think of anywhere this doesn't work.

4) Rusty James - I Can't Wait (Crosstown Rebels) 
The new artist on Crosstown Rebels and someone I've known for quite a few years, Russ has really killed it with this one, on one level there's subtlety, but the biggest breakdown ever. Nice dark bassline as well.

5) Art Department - Without You (Crosstown Rebels) 
Another unique, complex, massive bassline. This is the track that will put Jonny and Kenny on the map for sure every time it gets played two or three people come to the booth to ask what it is, which is always a good sign.

Lee Foss will be playing alongside Jamie Jones, Craig Richards, jozif, and the rest of the Kubicle gang at this weekend's Kubicle Birthday Marathon. Sunday 25th - Monday 26th July at various venues from the Brickhouse to Public Life and Metropolis.