Pin It
Lorde 'Solar Power' image
Photography Ophelia Mikkelson

Lorde announces ‘Solar Power’ release date, tracklist, and world tour

Alongside the summer release, the New Zealand singer is releasing a collection of eco-conscious merch – honouring the album’s celebration of nature

Earlier this month, Lorde officially announced her third studio album Solar Power alongside the release of its summery title track of the same name. For fans, this marked her long-awaited return since 2017’s Melodrama. Now, the New Zealand singer-songwriter has revealed that Solar Power will arrive on August 20.

Alongside the release date – which was shared on the summer solstice via Lorde’s customary email ‘bulletins’ – the artist teased the Solar Power tracklist and announced a world tour beginning in February 2022. 

According to the email, the album will contain 12 tracks and two bonus tracks, with the majority of the song titles including references to nature. “The album is a celebration of the natural world, an attempt at immortalising the deep, transcendent feelings I have when I’m outdoors,” explained Lorde. “In times of heartache, grief, deep love, or confusion, I look to the natural world for answers. I’ve learned to breathe out, and tune in. This is what came through.” 

Besides references to nature, the early fan-favourite of the list seems to be “Stoned in the Nail Salon”, which has already sparked the newest round of Solar Power memes across social media. Tbh, we’re here for it.

Honouring the album’s celebration of the outdoors, Lorde also announced a collection of eco-conscious album merch, including ethically-made t-shirts and hoodies from repurposed cotton and manufacturing waste, two vinyls, and a music box (which serves as an alternative to CDs). 

"No CDs this time. I didn’t wanna make something that would end up in a landfill in two years,” said Lorde. “More than that, I wanted to make something that symbolised my commitment to asking questions of our systems, and making stuff with intention and sensitivity."

Meanwhile, the singer revealed that the Solar Power world tour – which will begin in the singer’s home of New Zealand – will be ‘intimate’, mostly taking place in ‘theatres and green fields rather than arenas’.

In line with the album’s slower pace, Lorde explained that she will be staying off social media this cycle, instead continuing to send out long-form emails with interviews, Q&As with fans, recipes, and behind-the-scenes tour photos. “I know it’s a different sort of pace to what you’re probably used to... but I’m looking forward to retraining our brains together,” she said.

Sign up for Lorde’s email list here for early access to tour tickets, and pre-save Solar Power here. Check out the tracklist below.

  1. “The Path”
  2. “Solar Power”
  3. “California”
  4. “Stoned in the Nail Salon”
  5. “Fallen Fruit”
  6. “Secrets From a Girl (Who's Seen It All)”
  7. “The Man with An Axe”
  8. “Dominoes”
  9. “Big Star”
  10. “Leader of a New Regime”
  11. “Mood Ring”
  12. “Oceanic Feeling”