Pin It
FKA twigs shares details of her new album, MAGDALENE
FKA twigs, MAGDALENEArtwork Matthew Stone

FKA twigs shares details of her new album, MAGDALENE

The singer’s second record will drop on October 25

It’s been five long years since FKA twigs released her debut album LP1, but the wait for its follow-up is finally over as the singer has announced details of her new record, MAGDALENE.

Set for release on October 25 via Young Turks, the album is produced by twigs and was recorded over the last three years in London, New York, and Los Angeles.

The record was created during a period of heartbreak, and after the artist had surgery to remove six tumours from her uterus. “I never thought heartbreak could be so all-encompassing,” twigs explained in a press release. “I never thought that my body could stop working to the point that I couldn’t express myself physically in the ways that I have always loved and found so much solace.”

“I have always practiced my way into being the best I could be,” she continued, “but I couldn’t do that this time, I was left with no option but to tear every process down. But the process of making this album has allowed me for the first time, and in the most real way, to find compassion when I have been at my most ungraceful, confused, and fractured. I stopped judging myself and at that moment found hope in ‘Magdalene’. To her I am forever grateful.”

The announcement follows her return to music in April when she dropped a video for new single “cellophane” – as well as a documentary about its creation – which will be the closing track on her forthcoming album. MAGDALENE will feature numerous collaborations, including with producer Nicolas Jaar, with album artwork by twigs’ long time collaborator Matthew Stone.

See the artwork for MAGDALENE above, and the full tracklist below.

  1. “thousand eyes”
  2. “home with you”
  3. “sad day”
  4. “holy terrain” ft Future
  5. “mary magdalene”
  6. “fallen alien”
  7. “mirrored heart”
  8. “daybed”
  9. “cellophane”