Maison Martin Margiela SS14

Deconstructed sleeves dropped from looks encrusted with jewels in a showgirl performance

Fashion Show
MARGIELA SS14_27
Magdalena Jasek at Oui Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial Reaction:

Deconstructed showgirls.

Atmosphere:

Clinical – as one would expect from Margiela.

Model behaviour:

Julia Nobis opened the show in a deep red suit and later we spotted our #dazedmodelinsider Grace Mahary dripping in gold sequins.

Stand out look:

A floor length sequined floral dress encrusted with a mass of jewels.

Design concepts:

Sleeves were deconstructed and detached from the shoulder – causing them to subtly fall off the models as they appeared on the runway.

Double take:

A pearl coloured sequined bodice worn over a deconstructed blazer – with nothing else.

Unexpected details:

The models’ legs were subtly covered in silver glitter.

References:

LA showgirls and circus performers.

Spotted:

Iggy Azelia dressed head to toe in one of Margiela’s paint slatted creation.

Soundtrack:

Just check out our exclusive Margiela playlist.

MARGIELA SS14_14
Maison Martin Margiela SS14 Photography by Lea Colombo

Models: Julia Nobis, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Mijo Mihaljcic (@mijomihaljcic), Caroline Farneman, Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Anna Ewers, Fei Fei Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Carolina Sjostrand (@carolinasjostrand), Luca Gadjus, Valerija Kelava, Estella Brons (@estellabrons), Maartje Verhoef (@maartjeverhoef), Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw), Amanda Wellsh (@amandawellsh), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Julier Bugge (@julierkruebugge), Irene Hiemstra, Irina Kravchenko, Fia Ljungstrom, Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Marique Schimmel (@mariqueschimmel), Lisa Verberght (@lisaverberght), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Joanna Takarta

More Fashion Week