Pin It
Photography Charlotte Wales

Listen to two previously unreleased SOPHIE tracks with Miami duo Basside

The tracks are part of a collaborative EP, ‘FUCK IT UP’, which will be released on April 2

Two new tracks by SOPHIE and Basside have been shared ahead of the release of the Miami duo’s EP, FUCK IT UP, on April 2.

“FUCK IT UP” and “NYC2MIA (SOPHIE REMIX)” were completed before SOPHIE’s sudden death in January. According to Basside’s Bandcamp, SOPHIE invited the duo to her studio in LA after seeing them perform at Miami’s iii Points Festival in 2016. The three quickly made the six tracks that comprise the FUCK IT UP EP.

Despite not seeing a proper release until 2021, these tracks have been played during live sets by PC Music founder A. G. Cook, Charli XCX, Jimmy Edgar, and Machinedrum. SOPHIE herself played the tracks during DJ sets at Primavera Sound and Miami’s Ultra Music Festival.

“In line with her watershed production on Charli XCX’s Vroom Vroom EP, which was released shortly before these sessions, SOPHIE’s work on Fuck It Up EP provides a beautiful snapshot at a fruitful yet transitionary time for the massively influential producer in between her debut singles collection PRODUCT and the brave new world to come with her full-length Oil of Every Pearl's Un-Insides,” reads a description on Bandcamp.

Last week, Unsound Festival released a new track by SOPHIE and producer Jlin, titled “JSLOIPHNIE”, as part of a compilation called Intermission – listen to it here.

Following her death, fans launched a petition calling on NASA to name a planet after SOPHIE. The petition read: “I want her name to be remembered and her influence to continue to flourish for many years to come.”

Doll company Bratz also immortalised the musician with her very own Bratz doll, which it announced on Instagram by recreating the cover of her debut album, OIL OF EVERY PEARL’S UN-INSIDES.

Listen to “FUCK IT UP” and “NYC2MIA (SOPHIE REMIX)” here.