Pin It
The xx studio update

Listen to The xx’s in-the-studio playlist

The UK band share an update on their third album along with a mix of songs they’ve been listening to while recording, featuring Björk, PJ Harvey, Frank Ocean and more

It’s been four years since The xx released their second album Coexist, but the UK band have revealed that they’re currently in the studio working on its follow-up – and they’ve shared a playlist of some of the music they’ve been listening to while recording.

“It’s been a while but you’ve been on our minds!” the band said in a handwritten note posted to social media, “We are in the studio working on our third album, it feels so good to be together making new music.”

The playlist features songs by Nina Simone and Björk, cult bands like The Velvet Underground and The Durutti Column, and new music from Solange, Sampha, and Frank Ocean. “We hope you enjoy them as much as we do!” they added.

While there’s currently no timetable for the album’s release, it’s probably a safe bet to say that it’ll be out some time within the next year: the band have also announced a series of live shows taking place later this year and in early 2017, with dates scheduled across Eastern Europe, Japan, and South America. Check out the full dates here.

While The xx have remained relatively quiet since Coexist came out in 2012, Jamie xx has had a successful solo career as a producer, releasing his debut album In Colour last year. Recently we spoke to filmmaker Romain Gavras about his ambitious music video for Jamie xx’s “Gosh”.

You can listen to the playlist via Apple Music below, with other streaming platforms available here.