Pin It
frank ocean

Frank Ocean drops visual album Endless

The reclusive R&B singer has released a different project featuring contributions from James Blake, Arca and Sampha

Frank Ocean has officially released a new visual album, Endless.

It’s been over a year since we were first promised a sophomore release from the enigmatic singer. Over on the livestream on Thursday (18 August), Endless showed Ocean building a staircase while debuting the tracks.

A follow-up to his 2012 album Channel Orange, it’s apparently a separate project from his proper new album, according to Rolling Stone. A spokesperson for Ocean told Pitchfork to “keep an eye out this weekend for more from Frank”, and confirmed that the album’s title Boys Don’t Cry had been scrapped for something else.

This just-released project features contributions from Sampha, Arca, James Blake and Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, as well as the London Contemporary Orchestra.

Confusion and mystery has surrounded Ocean’s musical output in the last 13 months: an image on a library card that appeared on his website showed several dates, causing mass frenzy and speculation. A source told the New York Times that Boys Don’t Cry would be out earlier in the month, but what came instead was a looped video of Ocean and instrumental songs.

Endless is streaming on Apple Music now.


1 “Device Control”
2 “At Your Best (You Are Love) (Isley Brothers cover)”
3 “Alabama”
4 “Mine”
5 “U-N-I-T-Y”
6 Ambience 001: “In a Certain Way”
7 “Commes Des Garcons”
8 Ambience 002: “Honeybaby”
9 “Wither”
10 “Hublots”
11 “In Here Somewhere”
12 “Slide on Me”
13 “Sideways”
14 “Florida”
15 “Deathwish (ASR)”
16 “Rushes”
17 “Rushes To”
18 “Higgs”