Pin It

Essential buys for Record Store Day 2014

We pick our top ten releases from this year's installment, featuring Joy Division, Omar Souleyman & David Lynch

Fast becoming the most important day in music fans’ calendars, Record Store Day is back for its 2014 installment. This Saturday April 19, fans will be tempted back into their local indie stores by over 800 exclusive releases – including heavy-hitters from Nirvana, Damon Albarn and OutKast – and we’ve whittled the list down to the ten most unique one-offs that you won’t find anywhere else. Log out of iTunes, set the alarm clock and get your comfy queuing shoes on.

Disclosure – "Apollo" (12" – 2500 copies)

London duo Disclosure are releasing this limited edition 12” of their new track “Apollo”, which surfaced towards the end of last year. The track takes its title from the Greek god of music, and a mythological statue with the bands signature scrawl adorns the cover art. Filled with their trademark glittering melodies and driving bassline, the release is the only physical pressing of the Settle-sessions outtake.

LCD Soundsystem – Long Goodbye Live at MSG (5 LP box – 3000 copies)

It’s been over three years since the band’s last gig at New York’s Madison Square Gardens. LCD offered fans the chance to watch the mammoth 28-song setlist when they released the film “Shut Up and Play the Hits” two years ago. However, you can now re-live frontman James Murphy’s three-and-a-half hour final farewell all over again, unabridged, across a five LP box set.

V/A – Zang Tuum Tumb (ZTT): The Re-organization of Pop (10x7” – 1000 copies, each numbered)

Featuring classics from Art of Noise, 808 State, and Frankie Goes To Hollywood, this 10-strong box set of 7” vinyls documents highlights from the legendary British record label Zang Tuum Tumb’s (ZTT). Three of the tracks are being pressed on vinyl for the very first time, and each 7” comes with its own original artwork.

Joy Division – "An Ideal For Living" (7")

The embers of punk are still burning bright in this repressing of An Ideal for Living. The first EP recorded by Joy Division, it captures the band just before they signed to Tony Wilson’s Factory Records label and morphed into the post-punk outfit that would break into the mainstream before Ian Curtis’ untimely suicide.

Fela Kuti – "Se e Tun De / Waka Waka" (7" - 1000 copies)

With new documentary Finding Fela due out later this month, what better way to get in the mood than divulging in a freshly re-pressed 7” from the enigmatic Nigerian legend. Taken from the 1960s release, A-side "Se E Tun De" sees Fela joined by his backing band, His Koola Lobitos, and puts a jazzy spin on his signature afrobeat sound.

Nile Rodgers – "Do What You Wanna Do (IMS Anthem)" (Eats Everything Remixes) (12")

Enjoying a renaissance since featuring on Daft Punk’s Random Access Memories album last summer, Chic co-founder Nile Rodgers’ gets some remix treatment of his own courtesy of Bristolian Eats Everything. Crafted especially for the International Music Summit in Ibiza last summer, the track combines euphoric balearic melodies and pounding house drums, and has been pressed to vinyl for the very first time especially for Record Store Day.

Omar Souleyman – Jazeera Nights: Folk and Pop Sounds of Syria (LP)

Having been exposed to a new set of fans thanks to Kieran Hebden’s (Four Tet) production of his last album Wenu Wenu, its time to dig into the enigmatic Syrian musicians back catalogue. Jazeera Nights: Folk & Pop Sounds of Syria does just that, providing listeners with a nine track retrospective that spans 15 years of Omar Souleyman’s career pre-Four Tet.

Oneohtrix Point Never – Commissions I (12" – 1000 copies)

Electronic experimentalist Oneohtrix Point Never presents a project developed from commissions for artwork, performance and film for this years Record Store Day. In a similar vein to Aphex Twin’s 26 Mixes For Cash, the producer is releasing a three-track 12”, including track Music For Steamed Rocks – Lopatin's own interpretation of Polish composer Witold Lutoslawski's “Preludes”.

David Lynch – The Air Is On Fire (LP)

When not busy directing award-winning films, or curating jaw-dropping photography exhibitions, David Lynch also finds time to make spellbinding music. Following The Big Dream EP last year, The Air Is on Fire is the soundtrack to the retrospective exhibition of the same title that presented the artwork of artist and filmmaker David Lynch using themes from his childhood, adolescent, and adult life.

Tame Impala – Live Versions (EP)

The Australian rock five-piece are bringing out something new for this years Record Store Day. Recorded at a concert in Chicago last year, the eight-track pressing presents the band at their rawest. Frontman Kevin Parker decided to select the songs that sounded the most different from their studio versions – with tracks spanning across Tame Impala’s discography – aiming to give fans something they wouldn’t already have.