Pin It
Rodarte SS15
Left, Kia Low (Next) Right, Hollie May Saker (Trump) backstage at Rodarte SS15Photography by Lea Colombo

Rodarte SS15

Punk sea sirens caught in rope netting and covered in shimmering beading walk the runway – could this be the wardrobe of Sofia Coppola's upcoming 'The Little Mermaid'?

Initial reaction:

Could these be costumes for Sofia Coppola's The Little Mermaid? The show began with 70s glam pirates in flouncy blouses and white jeans, hook belts and anoraks with pockets covered in rope netting. Slowly the women became mermaids caught in nets, walking out in dresses with asymmetrical hems hanging like seaweed, beading shimmering like it was catching the sun through water or arranged to look like sea foam, and nettle accents at the necklines. Of course, in true Rodarte form they were punk mermaids, with thin silver hoop rows piercing both eyebrows.

The music tells the story:

The show closed with Brian Eno's "The Big Ship" playing. The final three dresses, lush wish sea floor details, stood as the brand's signature neon flous flickered. Were they watching the ship that captured their sisters sink? Or perhaps just sail away, leaving the most beautiful mermaids free behind.

All that glitters:

In addition to lights, the set had broken glass and buckets of green and blue turquoise Swarovski crystals spread over it. Suffice to say, plenty of people stopped to direct their phones to the floor. 

The soundtrack to Rodarte SS15:

Models: Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Ewa Wladymiruk (@ewawladymiruk), Carolin Loosen (@carolinloosen), Sasha Luss (@sashaluss), Kia Low (@kialow), Hollie May Saker (@holliemaysaker), Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Jamie Bochert (@jamiebochert), Mona Matsuoka (@mona__offi), Daria Strokous (@dariastrokous), Anna Ewers (@annaewers), Matilda Lowther (@matild_lowther), Riley Montana