Pin It
celine hedi slimane campaign new york
@kellyrutherford

Celine releases teaser campaign for Hedi Slimane’s debut

The designer has recreated the house’s logo too

The end of summer is officially here. How do we know? Well, the fashion industry has kicked things into high gear ahead of the fast-approaching SS19 womenswear shows. 

Last week, Lady Gaga surprised us by giving us a preview of Hedi Slimane’s first handbag for Celine (casually in front of the Mona Lisa). Now, the house has revealed its first campaign for the new designer. Appearing on posters around New York, the campaign is a diptych – with one image revealing a gold curtain and the other a black-and-white portrait of the back of a model’s head. Just the top of her shoulders are visible, revealing a black sequinned jacket. 

And there’s more! The old Céline logo has been redesigned – it’s just Celine now (RIP é). Taking the house back to its roots, the new logo has been simplified, balancing out the space between the letters. Elsewhere, the word ‘Paris’ has been removed from campaigns, but will still appear on packaging and clothing labels. 

Fans of Slimane and Celine alike only have 25 days until the designer makes his debut. With NYFW starting on Wednesday, PFW will be here before you know it.