Altuzarra SS14

Joan Smalls opens a show of Byzantine grandeur and ethereal layering at Altuzarra

Fashion Show
IMG_5296w.jpg
Irina Kravchenko at Women Management and Sasha Luss at Women Management Photography by Mark Reay

Initial reaction:

Etruscan grandeur meets seaside humility.

Quote of the show:

"There's something poetic and lyrical about how these pieces are put together, how they fly away from the body." - Joseph Altuzarra

Strongest look:

Joan Smalls in a soft white skirt with loosely buttoned ticking stripe blouse.

How they wore it:

Draped and loosely layered.

Unexpected details:

Patchwork denim trompe l’oeil prints.

Returning Altuzarra favourites:

High slit skirts, slim tailoring and beaded embellishment.

References:

Byzantine filigree, Japanese Boro textiles and ‘Death In Venice’.

Collaboration:

Patina finished brass jewellery by Philip Crangi.

Soundtrack:

An ethereal violin techno mash up by Sebastien Perrin.

Location:

The criss-cross runway at Industria Studios in Greenwich Village.

Models: Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Julia Nobis, Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Irina Kravchenko, Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Marine Deleeuw, Jac Jacaciak (@jacmonika), Shu Pei (@Shupeiq), Mijo Mihaljcic, Sam Rollinson (@samrollinson), Hedvig Palm, Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Caroline Brasch Nielsen (@caroline_brasch), Chiharu Okunugi (@chiharuuu0515), Joan smalls (@Joansmalls), Esther Heesch (@estherheesch), Zuzanna Bijoch (@BijochZuzanna), Lisa Verberght, Laura Kampman (@laurakampman), Josephine Van Delden (@josephinevandelden), Joanna Tatarka, Christina Hermann, Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Rijntje Van Wijk, Elise Crombez, Kate Goodling, Anna Ewers, Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Irene Hiemstra (@IRENE__X), Irine H

See all our latest features, interviews, and show reports from SS15, as it happens

More Fashion Week