Jarman Awards Shortlist

Whitechapel Gallery announces the 10 UK artists shortlisted for this year's Jarman Awards

British innovation in film is flourishing. This year's sixth annual Jarman Award - named after one of Britain's most esteemed and controversial artists of the 21st century, Derek Jarman - continues to celebrate the spirit of experimentation and imagination in the work of UK film-makers today. Shining a light on artists who are to our times what Jarman was to his, the award highlights those contemporary artists whose risk-taking work resists conventional boundaries and encompasses excellence and vision. 

One of the most brilliant aspects of the Jarman Award is its open-ended purpose, enabling an investment in the experimentative aspect of a film-maker's career, without pressure. The winner of the annual award not only receives a £10,000 cash prize, but a broadcast commission to produce a series of film artworks for Channel 4. This is the only Award of its kind where an artist is rewarded with both financial assistance to enable them to flourish and the opportunity to broadcast their work on national television.

This year's stellar line up of finalists include Ed Atkins, Beatrice Gibson, Emma Hart, Rachel Maclean, Uriel Orlow, Charlotte Prodger, Hannah Sawtell, Grace Schwindt, John Smith and Jessica Warboys.  The winner, handpicked by a jury including Tate Modern's Stuart Comer and Dazed's own Francesca Gavin, will be announced on 6th November at the Whitechapel Gallery.