Pin It
Basquiat compilation album
via The Vinyl Factory

There’s a Basquiat-inspired album on the way

Kojey Radical is among the artists who have contributed to the upcoming compilation

It’s been over 30 years since the death of Jean-Michel Basquiat, and yet the American painter has never felt so immortal. In the last two years, the artist has had his first major UK exhibition, become the subject of a Broadway musical, and sold a painting for a record-breaking $110.5 million. Now Basquiat is set to be the inspiration behind a new compilation album.

Fittingly named Untitled – a title Basquiat often gave to his works – the record will feature seven tracks inspired by the life and work of the late painter. Curated by Lonely Table and Anja Ngozi, the album will bring together a roster of emerging and established UK musicians, including Kojey Radical, dubstep DJ and producer Mala, jazz saxophonist Shabaka Hutchings, songwriter Roxanne Tataei, and more.

Traversing genres, the compilation will draw from the UK’s diverse musical underground, touching on jazz, experimental electronic, post-punk, dub and ambient influences.

After attending the Barbican’s Boom For Real exhibition, the featured artists were given a blank canvas to create tracks in response to Basquiat’s legacy. Delving into themes vital to the exhibition – and the painter’s oeuvre in general – Untitled sees the musicians explore identity, representation, and social inequality.

Two further tracks also came about as a result of workshops conducted in collaboration with youth charity Ruff Sqwad Foundation, in which BME teens visited London’s Tate Modern and created music in response to what they saw.

Untitled is released May 31 by Lonely Table, Anja Ngozi and The Vinyl Factory. Pre-order here, and see the tracklist below.

1. Wu-Lu, Lex Amor, Ego Ella May – “Legend”

2. LayFullstop, Moroka, AJ Kwame – “Broadcast By Chocolate”

3. Lord Tusk ft. Roxanne Tataei – “Know Ways”

4. Kojey Radical, Shabaka Hutchings – “No Gangster” (Produced by Kz)

5. Mala, Joe Armon-Jones, Nubya Garcia – “Scratch & Erase”

6. =CoN+KwAkE= – “Same Ol Samo”

7. Maxwell Owin & Coby Sey – “Response to Michel”