Pin It
Azealia BanksRankin

Azealia Banks releases long-awaited debut on iTunes

Broke With Expensive Taste (otherwise known as ‘Azealia Banks does a Beyonce’) gets a surprise release

Azealia Banks’ latest Facebook post simply reads: "Wait is over". In "212" she had the world rapping about ruining #kunts, but that was over three years ago. Countless Twitter beefs, label spats and consequent album delays later, her debut Broke With Expensive Taste (already in the US and UK iTunes top ten) is here at long last.

The cover art and track list appeared on Spotify on Thursday and Banks had blacked out her social media pages earlier this week in anticipation of the surprise release, following this year's singles "Heavy Metal & Reflective" and "Chasing Time".

Banks has recently become more known for her social media spats than her musical credibility, having taken a pop at anyone and everyone.

Among her conquests; Lily Allen ("she’s just mad coz sucking her husband's dick is like playing thumb wars"), Disclosure ("I’ve got better stuff on my record. That can be a fuck-you side") and Iggy Azalea ("fuck Iggy Azalea, I had a song called ’Pussy’ before she ever did. Here’s a link to my song. It’s better".)

2012’s Fantasea mixtape saw Banks enlist the production skills of hip-hop and trap's finest: Lunice, Hudson Mohawke and Diplo. This time round the producer credits read like a Fabric line up: SCNTST, Machinedrum and Lone all feature.

Broke With Expensive Taste features several older songs, including "BBD", "Yung Rapunxel" and her breakout hit "212". But "ATM Jam", her collaboration with Pharell, which massively flopped at No. 169 in the UK charts, does not. Aside from Lazy Jay’s feature on "212", there’s just one other collaboration on the album: Theophilus London on new track "JFK".

Earlier this year Banks left Universal after begging to be dropped, saying: "I'm tired of having to consult a group of old white guys about my black girl craft."

Now that Broke With Expensive Taste is finally out, was it worth the excruciating wait?

The track list is below:

1. "Idle Delilah"
2. "Gimme a Chance"
3. "Desperado"
4. "JFK" (feat. Theophilus London)
5. "212" (feat. Lazy Jay)
6. "Wallace"
7. "Heavy Metal and Reflective"
8. "BBD"
9. "Ice Princess"
10. "Yung Rapunxel"
11. "Soda"
12. "Chasing Time"
13. "Luxury"
14. "Nude Beach A-Go-Go"
15. "Miss Amor"
16. "Miss Camaraderie"

You can download the album off iTunes here. Listen to "Heavey Metal And Reflective" below: