Pin It
Kanye West, Sunday Service
via Instagram @kanyesundayservices

Kanye West is holding a virtual Sunday Service for Easter

Self-isolating viewers will be able to tune in to watch the gospel performance from 1pm BST

Easter Sunday is, for obvious reasons, a big day for Kanye West and his Sunday Service. Last year, the Jesus Is King rapper performed a special iteration of the show at Coachella, but this year – with Coachella postponed until October and public gatherings banned – he’s having to take a different approach.

As a result, today’s Easter edition of the Sunday Service (April 12) will be streamed online alongside Miami’s Vous Church, where the lead pastor is Rick Wilkerson Jr, the officiator of Kanye and Kim Kardashian’s wedding.

A pre-recorded performance from Kanye and the Sunday Service Choir will feature in services streamed on the church’s website and social media from 1pm BST (or 8am EDT). The last session will begin at 3am BST (or 10pm EDT).

While Kanye has a history of performing in conjunction with various churches, or at church gatherings, the practice has drawn criticism in the past. 

Earlier this year (January 18), he took Sunday Service to a controversial evangelical event that also booked anti-LGBT speakers, while he’s also performed at televangelist Joel Osteen’s megachurch.

Since the outbreak of coronavirus, Kanye West has also taken part in the effort to provide aid to the most vulnerable. Through charities in Chicago and Los Angeles, he has donated free meals to the elderly, families, and children affected by the pandemic.