Pin It
Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 16.12.11

Listen to two tracks from PJ Harvey’s upcoming album

The music icon has released a new album trailer, featuring tracks ‘The Community of Hope’ and ‘The Wheel’

If there’s one release we’re most excited about this year (aside from Rihanna’s ANTI and Kanye’s SWISH) it’s probably PJ Harvey’s long-awaited ninth studio album, which she has now revealed will be released April 15th on Island Records, and will be titled The Hope Six Demolition Project.

The music icon has also released a new album trailer (below), which was directed by Seamus Murphy, the cinematographer she collaborated with for her recent poetry book The Hollow of the Hand. The short clip includes two new tracksThe Community of Hope” and “The Wheel”, and both tracks feature her distinctive, raw vocals over jangling swathes of guitar, with the second track spiralling into a thick, sludgy guitar riff.

The video itself features footage from PJ Harvey’s time in Kosovo, Afghanistan and Washington, D.C., all places she visited over a four-year period. “When I’m writing a song I visualise the entire scene. I can see the colours, I can tell the time of day, I can sense the mood, I can see the light changing, the shadows moving, everything in that picture,” she commented. “Gathering information from secondary sources felt too far removed for what I was trying to write about. I wanted to smell the air, feel the soil and meet the people of the countries I was fascinated with.”

Watch the album trailer in its entirety below, and scroll down to read the album’s full tracklisting:

The album tracklist:

01. The Community of Hope

02. The Ministry of Defence

03. A Line in the Sand

04. Chain of Keys

05. River Anacostia

06. Near the Memorials to Vietnam and Lincoln

07.The Orange Monkey

08. Medicinals

09.The Ministry of Social Affairs

11.The Wheel

11. Dollar, Dollar