Pin It

Hemlock's 4th Birthday

The UK label boss specialising in the most forward-thinking dark bass & modern dubstep sounds kicks back with a packet of pork scratchings for their 4th anniversary

With a knack for discovering the best in rising new talent, UK-based label Hemlock first introduced the world to James Blake with his debut ‘Air & Lack Thereof’ in 2009, as well as releases from Mount Kimbie, Girl Unit, and Cosmin TRG. Having started out pushing the boundaries of dubstep and 'bass music', Hemlock, was founded by producer Untold (aka Jack Dunning) and designer Andy Spencer, now four years ago.

To mark the occasion of their anniversary and 20th release, Untold has curated an hour-long mix, ‘Chapter One’, representing label's past through their back catalogue including the likes of FaltyDL, Randomer, Pangaea's jungle-inspired ‘Hex’ and ‘Fatalist’, and Ramadanman (aka Pearson Sound), and the future with exclusive unreleased tracks. Here we speak to Untold about his proudest moments for the label alongside a preview of Guy Andrews' new 'Resistivity' track:

Dazed Digital: Four years old. How will you be celebrating?
With a pint and some pork scratchings, and maybe a warehouse rave.
DD: What do you feel has been the greatest achievement to you personally for the label till now?
Untold: I’m proud of my “Change in a Dynamic Environment” EP from earlier this year. It was a great to see it getting played and charted by artists and DJ’s I deeply respect. Aside from that just staying in business and continuing to release music on Vinyl.
DD: Do you feel the sound or the ethos of the label has changed at all since its inception?
Untold: Not really. We’ve put out everything from Dubstep, Breakbeat, Grime, Hip Hop and Techno that all share a common energy. We try not to get too caught up in what’s trendy and just put out records that will stand the test of time.

DD: What has been your favourite release of 2012 so far?
Untold: From us – Joe “MB / Studio Power On” a very odd record that’s turning up in unexpected places. From others it has to be “Lee Gamble - Diversions 1994-1996” on Pan.
DD: Whats next?

Untold: There are more singles and EP’s from our artists lined up for next year, and I’ll be touring the US for a month this November / December.

‘Chapter One’ Tracklist:

1. Fantastic Mr Fox & Rich Reason - Plimsoul
2. LV & Untold - Beacon (Mount Kimbie Remix)
3. James Blake - Air & Lack Thereof
4. Untold - Stop What You're Doing (James Blake Remix)
5. Untold - Discipline
6. Ramadanman - Tempest
7. Cosmin TRG - Béton Brut
8. Untold – Under *
9. FaltyDL – Artemis *
10. Sei A – Hyphen *
11. Guy Andrews – Resistivity *
12. Randomer - This Train *
13. Randomer - We Laugh, We Scream
14. Pangaea - Fatalist
15. Joe - Studio Power On
16. Untold - Motion The Dance
17. Nautiluss & Lord Skywave - Ultraviolet

(previously unreleased exclusives indicated by *)

Chapter One from Hemlock Recordings is out November 26th