Pin It
Chanel AW17 womenswear paris dazed
Chanel AW17Photography Lillie Eiger

Who has the biggest Instagram following in fashion?

A new report has revealed the top brands and models

Following last week’s list of the top paid models in the industry, a new report has been released that charts the best performing brands and models on Instagram.

Unsurprisingly, as 2017’s highest-paid model, Kendall Jenner also tops the most followed model list – as well as having the most liked photo. Alongside Jenner is Gisele Bündchen and the Hadids – who all also appeared in last week’s top 10. Much like the biggest earners, there is a clear lack of diversity when it comes to the most followed names, as well as those who have gained the most followers this year. When it comes to the models with the most engaged followers though, diversity does come through with Mayowa Nicholas and previous Dazed cover stars Yasmin Wijnaldum and Selena Forrest appearing. 

When it comes to brands, Chanel took the top spot for most followed at 25 million with Louis Vuitton (19.9 million) and Gucci (18.9 million) making up the top three. While Supreme didn’t make it into the top 10 – even after all of the hype around the LV x Supreme collab – it did gain 4.7 million followers though.

As for buzzy brands – most mentions, tags, captions, comments – Dior took the lead. Surprisingly, even with memes, aliens and a campaign featuring Dapper Dan, Gucci failed to make the buzzy list.

View the full report below.

Most-liked model photo

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner):

Most-liked designer photo

  1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham):

Top 10 most followed models

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) 83.7M+ followers
  2. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne) 40.7M+ followers
  3. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid) 36.7M+ followers
  4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid) 15.6M+ followers
  5. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata) 15.6M+ followers
  6. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen) 15M+ followers
  7. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele) 13.5M+ followers
  8. Miranda Kerr (@mirandakerr) 11.5M+ followers
  9. Candice Swanepoel (@angelcandices) 11.5M+ followers
  10. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima) 11.2M+ followers

Top 10 most followed designers

  1. Chanel (@chanelofficial) 25M followers.
  2. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton) 19.9M+ followers.
  3. Gucci (@gucci) 18.9M+ followers.
  4. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) 17.7M+ followers.
  5. Dior (@dior) 17.7M+ followers.
  6. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana) 15M+ followers.
  7. Prada (@prada) 13.9M+ followers.
  8. Michael Kors (@michaelkors) 10.7M+ followers.
  9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein) 10.6M+ followers.
  10. Versace (@versace_official) 10.5M+ followers.

Top 10 models who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner): Gained 12.7 million followers.
  2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid): Gained 8.6 million followers.
  3. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid): Gained 6.1 million followers.
  4. Chrissy Teigen (@chrissyteigen): Gained 5.3 million followers.
  5. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata): Gained 5.1 million followers.
  6. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne): Gained 4.1 million followers.
  7. Taylor Hill (@taylor_hill): Gained 2.6 million followers.
  8. Ashley Graham (@theashleygraham): Gained 2.5 million followers.
  9. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele): Gained 2.4 million followers.
  10. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin): Gained 2.2 million followers.

Top 10 designers who gained the most followers on Instagram in 2017

  1. Chanel (@chanelofficial): Gained 7.4 million followers.
  2. Gucci (@gucci): Gained 6.3 million followers.
  3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton): Gained 5.3 million followers.
  4. Supreme (@supremeny): Gained 4.6 million followers.
  5. Dior (@dior): Gained 4.3 million followers.
  6. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham): Gained 4.1 million followers.
  7. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana): Gained 3.1 million followers.
  8. Prada (@prada): Gained 3 million followers.
  9. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein): Gained 2.6 million followers.
  10. Versace (@versace_official) Gained 2.4 million followers.

Most buzzed about models this year

  1. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner)
  2. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)
  3. Gisele Bündchen (@gisele)
  4. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)
  5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)
  6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)
  7. Adriana Lima (@adrianalima)
  8. Barbara Palvin (@realbarbarapalvin)
  9. Josephine Skriver (@josephineskriver)
  10. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)

Most buzzed about designers this year

  1. Dior (@dior)
  2. Hermes (@hermes)
  3. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
  4. Saint Laurent (@ysl)
  5. Topshop (@topshop)
  6. Balenciaga (@balenciaga)
  7. Burberry (@burberry)
  8. Balmain (@balmain)
  9. Chloe (@chloe)
  10. Ralph Lauren (@ralphlauren)

Models who garnered the most Stories views

  1. Bella Hadid (@bellahadid)
  2. Alexis Ren (@alexisren)
  3. Emily Ratajkowski (@emrata)
  4. Gigi Hadid (@gigihadid)
  5. Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne)
  6. Hailey Baldwin (@haileybaldwin)
  7. Stefanie Giesinger (@stefaniegiesinger)
  8. Ashley Graham (@theashleygraham)
  9. Iskra Lawrence (@iskra)
  10. Sara Sampaio (@sarasampaio)

Designers who garnered the most Stories views

  1. Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham)
  2. Dior (@dior)
  3. Dolce and Gabbana (@dolcegabbana)
  4. Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton)
  5. Calvin Klein (@calvinklein)
  6. Gucci (@gucci)
  7. Tommy Hilfiger (@tommyhilfiger)
  8. Off____White (@off____white)
  9. Versace (@versace_official)
  10. Fendi (@fendi)

Fan favourites: Top 10 models with the most engaged followers in 2017

  1. Julia Ratner (@dear.ratner)
  2. Mayowa Nicholas (@mayowanicholas)
  3. Paulina Frankowska (@paulinafrankowska)
  4. Léa Julian (@lea_jul)
  5. Presley Gerber (@presleygerber)
  6. Kaia Gerber (@kaiagerber)
  7. Yasmin Wijnaldum (@yasminwijnaldum)
  8. Vittoria Ceretti (@vittoceretti)
  9. Lauren de Graaf (@laurenjdg)
  10. Selena Forrest (@selenaforrest)