Viktor & Rolf AW14

The Dutch duo take us on a road trip of tyre tread prints and a trompe l'oeil draping

Fashion Show
VIKTOR_ROLF_AW14
Diana Moldovan (IMG) backstage at Viktor & Rolf AW14 Shot by Jacques Habbah

Initial reaction:

A highway to heaven, in luxurious wool asymmetric draping. Tyre treads travelled in lines over coats, and merged into oversized cable knit-esque prints.

Atmosphere:

Under a grey lamp post, a female musician played guitar and sang at the side of the runway road, like a busker. The mood was wistful and slightly melancholic, and the air swirled with the smell of car fumes.

A grey obsession:

“We have always loved grey as a background. Things pop out so well”, Rolf Snoeren told us in December. This collection certainly didn’t stray too far from their preferred sombre shade.

Unexpected details:

The trompe l'oeil bows of the haute couture collection remerged in printed ‘drapes’ around the waist, contrast sweetheart printed necklines, and a soft neoprene-like sweater printed with a cardigan edged in white.

Stand out looks:

A boxy patent black leather jacket with plaited wool woven through, and the unexpected burst of neon red in the multi-layered floral prints.

Models: Esther Heesch (@estherheesch), Binx Walton (@waltonleona), Shu Pei Qin (@Shupeiq), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Kai Newman, Feng Qi Wen, Valery Kaufman (@ValeryKaufman), Kate Grigoreva, Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Julia Frauche (@Juliafrauche), Anna Ewers, Diana Moldovan (@dianalexmol), Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Irene Hiemstra (@irenehiemstra_x), Liu Wen (@LiuWenLW), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Sigrid Agren (@sigridagren), Jamie Bochert (@jamiebochert)

More Fashion Week