Versace AW14

A parade of sixties majorettes in trapeze coats, tattoo fur and lots of Versace bling

Fashion Show
VERSACE LINDSEY

Initial reaction:

Hit parade of sensual majorettes – slick, pristine and precise in dresses spliced with military frogging. No cadets here. They’re all female majors, marching to the beat of their own drum.   

Decorated: 

Military can be a hackneyed theme but Donatella puts her own spin on the recognisable accoutrements and decorations of honoured army officials – fringed epaulettes, aiguillettes, livery collars and sashes – adorned not with sanctioned badges and medals but with Versace's own language of crystal bling embellishment.

Stand out look:

Tattoo printed fur jackets that empowered Donatella's gang of provocateurs and duchesse satin trapeze coats worn all by themselves as mini-dresses with thigh high boots.

How they wore it:

Brigitte Bardot side parted hair amped up at the back. Donatella's girls don't have a hair out of place.

Mod control:

First Gucci now Versace. Suiting and dresses in Sgt. Pepper Lonely Hearts Club Band-inspired saturated hues could have come off the back of a scooter on King's Road in late sixties heyday. These mods find themselves modified with Versace’s thigh-high splits, asymmetric hems and slashed back slits.

The finale soundtrack was The Slits cover of Marvin Gaye's "Heard it through the grapevine", listen below.

Ahead of the show, Migos – who soundtracked Versace SS14 – told Donatella what she should be playing this season. You can listen to it here.

Models: Georgia May Jagger (@georgiamayjagge), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Carla Ciffoni (@Carciffoni), Valery Kaufman (@ValeryKaufman), Kasia Struss (@kasiastruss), Hanne Gaby Odiele (@hannegabysays), Manon Leloup (@manonleloup), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Lindsey Wixon (@lindseywixson), Iris Van Berne (@irisvberne), Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Hana Jirickova (@HanaJirickova), Leila Nda, Devon Windsor (@devwindsor), Kasia Struss (@kasiastruss), Iris Egbers (@irisegbers), Amanda Wellsh (@amandawellsh), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Anna Ewers (@AnNaEwers).

See all our latest features, interviews, and show reports from SS15, as it happens

More Fashion Week