Fendi AW14

A flurry of fierce warriors encircled by drones, and Cara Delevingne carrying Karl by his ponytail

Fashion Show
FENDI_AW14_64

Initial reaction:

21st century Roman female warriors with weapons of minute construction at their disposal.  

The great outdoors:

Karl Lagerfeld apparently dubbed the first part of the show "The Great Fur Escape". Every outdoors-y element that you could think of was present in the collection – parkas, bomber jackets, hardy zippers, camouflage, giant hoods – but they had been reconfigured in the house of Fendi's supremely deft technical skills. Beyond the great outdoors of planet Earth, we were also sent to outer space as clusters of nebula were worked into the finale passage of fur coats. Truly out of this world.      

Flower power:

Why orchids, we wondered, as almost every model came out with a cluster of white orchids festooning the lapels of their jackets – an oddly sentimental gesture in this flurry of fierce female Fendi warriors. Then again, to the Ancient Greeks, orchids meant virility.     

The drones:

Fendi's drones with their red and green lit-up eyes zoomed and buzzed above us and on the catwalk, which caused a few "Ooohs" and "Aaahs". But they remained firmly in the background during the show, as Shostakovich's Jazz Suite No.1 took over and the models, who were anything but drone-like, were right at the forefront of your attention.  

Cara and Mini Karl:

Cara Delevingne held Karl Lagerfeld buy his ponytail. Or at least a mini doll version of Lagerfeld, rendered in fur. She held it like you would a mouse. Leave it to the feisty Cara to bring Kaiser Karl down a peg or two.  

Models: Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Georgia May Jagger (@georgiamayjagger), Paulina King, Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Saskia de Brauw (@SBrauw), Sabrina Ioffreda, Cara Delevingne (@caradelevingne), Katia Selinger (@katiaselinger), Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Josephine van Delden (@josephinevandelden), Lindsey Wixson (@lindseywixson), Julie Hoomans (@Julie_Hoomans), Nastya Sten, Brogan Loftus (@BroggssCB), Ronja Furrer (@furrerronja), Elisabeth Erm, Lily McMenamy, Joan Smalls (@Joansmalls), Charlene Hoegger, Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Sam Rollinson (@samrollinson), Lexi Boling (@LexiBoling), Imaan Hammam (@imaanhammam),  Hollie-May Saker (@holliemaysaker)

 

 

More Fashion Week