Mary Katrantzou AW14

Cascades of intricately constructed Greek insignia hang like chainmail over the body

Fashion Show
Mary K cover

Initial reaction:

Ancient Greek symbols and everyday signs left to hang over the naked body.

Progression:

This season felt like a real step up for Katrantzou. The often-overbearing prints of collections past were replaced with subtle and intricately constructed insignia that hung like chainmail over the body.

Stand out look:

Asymmetric chainmail-inspired skirts, which were dissected with pleated school uniform skirt panels.

Model moment:

All of the Dazed favourites including cult 90s model Kirsten Owen and Devon Windsor, who features in the January issue of Dazed & Confused.

Closing moment:

Intricately industrial prints formed long evening gowns, which splayed at the floor thanks to pleated plain inserts at the knees. The detailed burgundy and monochrome depictions of symmetrical mechanisms – like the tiny cogs and dials of a clock – cried out for closer inspection.

Models: Josefien Rodermans (@josefienrodermans), Lisa Verberght (@lisaverberght), Franzi Mueller (@franzimue), Erika Wall, Nicole Pollard (@nicolepollard), Magda Laguinge (@magdalaguinge), Pamela Bernier (@pamelabernier), Dauphine McKee, Josefien Rodermans (@josefienrodermans), Riley Montana, Milana Kruz (@milana_kruz), Irina Kravchenko 

More Fashion Week