Miu Miu SS14

A gang of kitsch alien teenagers in printed suede, sequin fish prints and patent Mary Janes

Fashion Show
cover miu miu

Initial reaction:

Miuccia’s gang of kitsch alien teenagers.

How it was worn:

With clear plastic chokers and sci-fi glasses worn over hair and on the tip of the nose. Topped off with cable knit socks and patent Mary Jane platforms.

Stand out looks:

Incredible printed suede jackets and embellished sequined dresses covered with kitsch fish prints.

Fabrication:

Lots of pastel tone PVC and plastic leathers, almost reminiscent of sixties kitchens and Formica furniture.

Unexpected details:

Each of the models appeared with hair intentionally stuck to their lips, and everyone in the audience relived those awkward teenage lip gloss moments.

Set:

Covered in kitsch animal wallpaper with glass bottle chandeliers. We were invited to sit in minimal sixties armchairs.

The look:

Models walked as if slightly brainwashed, looking very alien and suddenly the whole show became amazingly perverse.

Viral moment:

The plush pile of the blue carpet catwalk sent many models tripping in their platforms, sending a ripple of gasps through the crowd and only heightening the unnerving, brainwashed trance of the show.

Soundtrack:

Trance-like psychedelic pop sounds, listen in our playlist below.

V.I - Mirwais
What Time Is Love (Echo And The Bunnymen Mix) - KLF
So Hard (KLF vs. Pet Shop Boys) - KLF
Venus - KLF
The Great Gig In The Sky - Pink Floyd

Invitation: 

Minimal and covered in a coat of sheer plastic gel.

MiuMiuSS14_42
Linn Arvidsson at Viva
winking cat
The Miu Miu winking cat

Models: Julie Hoomans (@Julie_Hoomans), Maja Salamon, Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Harleth Kuusik (@harlethkuusik), Xiao Wen Ju (@jujujuxiaowen), Lena Jaslowska, Hollie May Saker (@holliemaysaker), Lera Tribel, Irene Hiemstra, Eva Berzina, Joanna Tatarka, Auguste Abeliunaite (@msaugustina), Elisabeth Erm, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Irina Kravchenko, Fia Ljungstrom, Irma Spiers, Ieva Palionyte (@palionytee), Clementine Deradt, Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Kai Newman, Julia Bergshoef, Maggie Jablonski, Pauline Hoarau (@PaulineHoarau), Daiane Conterato (@daianeconterato), Mijo Mihaljcic (@mijomihaljcic), Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Sabrina Loffreda, Gabriele Regesaite, Nika Cole, Emilie Ellehauge, Nastya Stepanova, Holly Rose Emery (@hollyroseemery), Ondria Hardin (@IamOndriaHardin), Juliana Schurig (@Juliana_Schurig), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Linn Arvidsson (@linnarvidson), Anna Ewers at Women, Stina Rapp (@stinarw), Ola Rudnicka

See all our latest features, interviews, and show reports from SS15, as it happens

More Fashion Week