Valentino SS14

Fringed suede and heavy colourful embroidery create a seventies craft folkloric mash up

Fashion Show
67-PAP_SS 14
Cara Delevingne at Elite

Initial reaction:

Delicate and intricate folkloric mash up.

Reminded us of:

Seventies arts and crafts mixed with royalty, and Anne Boleyn on a trip to Egypt.

Unexpected details:

Gold scarab chokers and bracelets, and a blue shirt layered underneath a tulle dress with heavy embellishments on Sasha Luss.

Stand out looks:

The opening fringed and embroidered suede cape on Malaika Firth, the leopard jacquard cape with sleeve-like extremities that attached in the back, and the two finale dresses with heavy colourful embroidery.

References:

Aztec, Native American, and Egyptian graphic embroideries, with a mystical seventies influence.

Surprise look:

Mens style shirting,

How they wore it: 

Minimal layering and lots of skin revealed through tulle.

Innovation:

Heavily constructed engineered lace and embroideries in amazing colours.

Soundtrack:

Classical music transition in and out of Madame Butterfly.

Left us wanting: 

A fringed suede cape.

 

valentino grace mahary
Grace Mahary, #dazedmodelinsider, in Valentino SS14

Models: Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Ine Neefs, Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Lera Tribel, Elisabeth Erm, Auguste Abeliunaiute (@msaugustina), Esther Heesch (@estherheesch), Edie Campbell (@ebcampbell), Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Irina Kravchenko, Pauline Hoarau (@PaulineHoarau), Dasha Gold, Caroline Brasch Nielsen (@caroline_brasch), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Estella Brons (@estellabrons), Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Valery Kaufman, Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Julia Nobis, Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Josephine Skriver (@JosephinSkriver), Lexi Boling (@lexiboling), Irene Hiemstra, Harleth Kuusik, Maja Salamon, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Vasilisa Pavlova (@vasikisa), Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Elodia Prieto, Holly Rose Emery (@hollyroseemery), Erika Labanauskaite, Anna Ewers, Sam Rollinson (@samrollinson), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw), Fei Fei Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Hanne Gaby Odiele (@hannegabysays), Maud Welzen (@maudwelzen), Cara delevingne (@caradelevingne)

More Fashion Week