Givenchy SS14

Models encrusted with jewels and draped in samurai silhouettes stalk a dramatic crash scene

Pin It
Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial Reaction:

Tisci’s jeweled warriors.


Intense – a smoking car crash filled the centre of the show space. Was Riccardo Tisci paying homage to David Cronenberg ’s sexually charged 1996 film Crash?

Stand out details:

Make-up artist Pat McGrath covered model’s faces in jewels reminiscent of Leigh Bowery’s theatrical costumes, but these weren’t masks – they were directly applied to the model’s faces.

Viral moment:

The show also opened to the sounds of a live drum band, which set the tone for an atmospheric soundtrack.


Lots of loose draped fabrics, asymmetric samurai silhouettes and pleated sections.

Unexpected details:

Metallic ear cuffs and exposed leather harness.

Textural surfaces:

An abundance of sequined embellishments.


This season Tisci’s girls were warriors – fur was thrown over their shoulders and woven belt worn like gladiators on the waist.

Model behaviour:

Julia Nobis in a floor-length yellow sequined gown with a triangular cut-out halter neck.


Kim and Kanye, of course.

Models: Imaan Hammam, Sophia Kelly (@itssophiakelly), Saara Sihvonen (@saarasihvonen), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Jourdan Dunn (@officialjdunn), Meghan Collison (@meghancollison), Timea Birkner, Senait Gidey (@senaitgidey), Lea T, Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Ona Marija, Elodia Prieto, Lais Ribeiro (@Lalaribeiro16), Saskia de Brauw, Kati Nescher, Betty Adewole (@BettyAdewole), Emma Chamtaloup, Mariana Santana (@mariaanasantana), Daniela Braga (@bragadany), Cindy Bruna, Edie Campbell (@ebcampbell), Yasmin Warsame, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Jamie Bochert (@jamiebochert), Paula Baniotaite (@pauladabaula), Sabrina Ioffreda, Irina Sharipova (@irinasharipova), Kamila Hansen (@kamilahansen), Estee Rammant (@rammantestee), Sam Rollinson (@samrollinson), Iran, Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Axel Boroska, Sherita Dehon (@sherita_dehonney), Kayla Clarke, Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Natalia Siodmiak (@nataliasiodmiak), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Lakshmi Menon (@menonlakshmi), Henna Lintukangas (@hennalintukangas), Anne Verhallen (@anneverhallen1), Julia Nobis, Maria Borges (@mariaborges28), Joan Smalls (@Joansmalls)

More Fashion

Like this?
Like Dazed on Facebook