Céline SS14

Brassai women and Parisian street art inspire a bright and bold, illustrated collection

Fashion Show
_MG_5107
Irina Liss at Nathalie Photography by Louise Damgaard

Initial reaction:

Eighties illustration in motion; clothes for a bold woman.

References:

“Graffiti by Brassai"; primal graffiti and Parisian street art, eighties painterly illustrations and street wear.

Stand out looks:

The knit wear looks, and the heavily patterned coat on Irene Hiemstra.

How they wore it:

Very layered. On some looks extra large grommets on jackets and tops revealed layers lying beneath.

Unexpected details:

A yellow jumper tied around the waist and knotted in the back worn over ragga style open knit skirts. A large clutch bag with a long tail of raffia streaming down the back. Woven jacquard trainers that read ‘love’ and ‘life’, beautiful crushed metal jewellery, which looked like the seats the attendees were sat on, and Ndebele-esque necklaces.

Most likely to:

Have potentially been worn on the cover of a Janet Jackson's ‘Control’.

Location:

Tennis Club de Paris

Atmosphere:

Large wooden box-like set that looked like the foundation of a building, and primary coloured metal stools.

Soundtrack:

Soul II Soul ‘Back to Life’, partially slowed down into a hypnotic lull.

The look:

Heavy brows that differentiated in size and shape per girl. Some were comical squiggles reminiscent of a woman in a Brassai photograph, while others were large block eyebrows. The hair was also different per girl, my favourite being the baby hair deconstructed finger wave.

_MG_5233
Céline SS14 Photography by Louise Damgaard
Janet Jackson control
Janet Jackson, Control

Models: Brogan Loftus, Ine Neefs, Emeline Ghesquiere (@emelineghesquiere), Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Eva Berzina, Elodia Prieto, Maartje Verhoef (@maartjeverhoef), Fei Fei Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw), Marie Piovesan, Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Binx Walton (@waltonleona), Muriel Beal (@murielBeal), Mariana Santana (@mariaanasantana), Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Nastya Sten, Chiharu Okunugi (@chiharuuu0515), Mijo Mihaljcic (@mijomihaljcic), Lera Tribel, Julia Nobis, Irene Hiemstra, Devon Windsor (@devwindsor), Harleth Kuusik (@harlethkuusik), Anna Ewers, Cristina Herrmann, Sabrina Ioffreda, Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Ola Rudnicka, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Lisa Verberght (@lisaverberght), Mariina Keskitalo (@MariinaKes), Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Lexi Boling (@lexiboling), Carolina Sjostrand (@carolinasjostrand), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Georgia Taylor

More Fashion Week