Kenzo SS14

Pulsating water speakers and falling rain bring aqua prints and sporty silhouettes

Fashion Show
KENZO SS14_97
Irina Kravchenko at Nathalie Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

A high energy performance, pitting the ocean against humanity.

Atmosphere:

The show space was filled with pulsating speakers covered with a film of water, and models appeared behind barrier of rain.

Prints:

Geometric and graphic hand drawn aqua and fish motifs, some crosshatched others finely illustrated.

The message:

We must protect our oceans: in a sea of watery prints, came a t-shirt proclaiming, ‘no fish, no nothing’, announcing the label’s partnership with charity Blue Marine.

Model behaviour:

Hanne Gaby in aquatic blue printed vinyl trousers.

Unexpected details:

Drip embroidered cropped tops that resembled the shapes of waves, fish print bucket hats and swimming goggle-like sunglasses.

Silhouettes:

Sporty and crisp in all that blue and white; long line sleeveless blazers, boxy masculine jackets and bra tops worn over suit jackets.

From the source:

'We were really inspired by the fact that water is alive and it has a heartbeat. I feel like when you walk in the room and you see this, you realise that. One of our biggest messages was also this idea of protecting our oceans and to stop over-fishing. Obviously we work and create fashion but I think that fashion and social issues can exist together. How do we live in harmony with the ocean?" - Humberto Leon and Carol Lim, co-creative directors.

Location:

La Cité du Cinéma, a massive film studio complex supported by the film director Luc Besson, and located thirty minutes outside of Paris.

How they wore it:

With plastic spiral chokers, slicked back hair and bare midriffs.

KENZO SS14_23
Ysaunny Brito at Elite and Juliana Schurig at Elite Photography by Lea Colombo

Models: Logan Patterson, Eloisa Fontes, Sabrina Ioffreda, Simone Carvalho, Sunge Hee, Yulia Saparniyazova, Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Fei Fei Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Chiharu Okunugi (@chiharuuu0515), Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Amra Cerkezovic, Meghan Collison (@meghancollison), Ruby Jean Wilson (@rubyjean_wilson), Diana Moldovan (@dianalexmol), Ysaunny Brito, Kremi Otsashilyska, Juliette Fazekas (@juliettefazekas), Marique Schimmel (@mariqueschimmel), Ondria Hardin (@IamOndriaHardin), Irina Nikolaeva (@irinanikolaeva_), Ji Hye Park (@JiHyePark0206), Jeneil  Williams (@jeneil1), Maria Bradley (@maria_bradley), Jennifer Koch, Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Larissa Hofmann  (@larryhofmann), Juliana Schurig ( @Juliana_Schurig), Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Eva Berzina, Maja Salamon, Betty Adewole (@BettyAdewole), Ewa Wladymiruk (@ewawladymiruk), Caroline Brasch Nielsen (@caroline_brasch), Liu Wen (@LiuWenLW), Hanne Gaby (@hannegabysays), Laura Kampman (@laurakampman), Charlotte Hoyer, Sissi Hou, Kel Markey (@kelmarkey), Irina Kravchenko, Xiao Wen Ju (@jujujuxiaowen), Hollie-May Saker (@holliemaysaker)

More Fashion Week