Acne Studios SS14

Taking inspiration from the sea in clean and nostalgic shredded leather and anchor details

Fashion Show
ACNE STUDIOS SS14_149
Irina Kravchenko at Nathlalie Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

Clinical, clean and very nostalgic.

Atmosphere:

Intense spotlights and a series of white projector screens lit up the runway.

Live Performance:

Swedish Opera Singer Jussi Bjorling performing a dramatic rendition of the classic poem 'Till Halves' (Out to Sea).

Fabrication:

Shredded leather, natural materials like twill and lots of workwear details.

The look:

Windswept hair topped off with a blunt fringe.

Prints:

A series of deep saturated earth tones (inspired by the textures of the sea), which were turned into almost patchwork like prints. 

Model behaviour:

Julia Nobis opening the show in pure white with silver wedges and a large metallic belt hanging around her waist.

References:

The collection was inspired by the moods of the sea but also became quite a literal reference with silver anchor prints appearing on navy suits.

Unexpected details:

Metallic chokers, which were inspired by the shapes and forms of  marine objects that Johansson has collected.

Quote of the show:

“It was the moment for me to do something really straightforward; I wanted it to be really pure. I revisited the classic poem ‘Till Halves’ (Out to Sea). It’s about the power of the sea, and humanity relating to the sea. Stockholm is sixteen islands, so we’re brought up with this thing; everyone spends a lot of time in the archipelago. And my mother and father met at sea, so it’s a very personal thing.” – Jonny Johansson, creative director.

ACNE STUDIOS SS14_170
Acne SS14 Photography by Lea Colombo

Models: Julia Nobis, Lera Tribell, Ondria Hardin (@IamOndriaHardin), Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Mijo Mihaljcic (@mijomihaljcic), Josephine van Delden (@josephinevandelden), Estella Brons (@estellabrons), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Irina Kravchenko, Ashleigh Good (@ashinstagood), Marta Dyks (@martadixiedyks), Georgia Taylor, Binx Walton (@waltonleona), Carla Ciffoni, Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Devon Windsor (@devwindsor), Eva Berzina, Lexi Boling (@lexiboling), Linn Arvidsson (@linnarvidson), Nastya Sten (@Kusakina_Nastya), Harleth Kuusik, Kremi Otashilyska, Andreea Diaconu (@andreeadiaconu_), Daiane Conterato (@daianeconterato), Chiharu Okunugi (@chiharuuu0515), Drake Burnette (@_mamajama), Julier Bugge (@julierkruebugge), Cici Xiang Yejing, Sabrina Ioffreda, Meghan Collison (@meghancollison), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw), Kai Newman, Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin)

More Fashion Week