Balmain SS14

Quilted embellished denim, gold chain and feathered hems to pumping eighties beats

Fashion Show
Pin It
Georgia May Jagger Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

Power dressing for the street in denim and gold.


It verged between catwalk and club night - like the shows of the eighties, and Moschino just last week.

Stand out looks:

The quilted jacket/skirt combos, in lemon yellow, black leather and intricately embellished denim.

Unexpected details:

Oversized chain edged seams and necklines, gold buttons dotted jackets, and the zips which tore through denim off shoulder tops and dresses.

Model behaviour: 

Incredibly strong casting, including Lily McMenamy and Georgia May Jagger, whose mothers were cult icons during the eighties. It became almost nostalgic.


It was as if creative director Olivier Rousteing had rummaged through his mothers old cassettes - this was cult eightiess. Relax by Frankie Goes To Hollywood, The Reflex by Duran Duran and Tell Me Why by Bronski Beat


Dresses and skirts ended in ra-ra skirt frills, sumptuous folds and hedonistic ostrich feathers.

How they wore it:

High-waisted with chained boxing belts, and overalls in pinstripe and leather over unbuttoned white shirts.


The ballroom at the Grand Hotel in Paris - a room made for pure hedonism, and that's exactly with Balmain gave us.


Exploded houndstooth, power pinstripes, and sickly sweet eighties gingham.

Left us wanting:

To pile on the gold chain and take these power suits to the dancefloor.


Tomorrow we will be running a live twitter Q&A with Balmain's creative director Olivier Rousteing. Tune in at 5pm UK time on @Dazed_Fashion, and tweet your questions to #AskOlivier

Follow Balmain on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Models: Elisabeth Erm, Toni Garrn (@RealToniGarrn), Rosie Huntington-Whiteley (@rosiehw), Amanda Wellsh (@amandawellsh), Josephine Le Tutor (@JosephineLT_), Elodia Prieto, Nadja Bender (@nadjabender), Saskia de Brauw, Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Karlie Kloss (@karliekloss), Cameron Russell (@CameronCRussell), Andreea Diaconu (@andreeadiaconu_), Karmen Pedaru (@kpedaru), Catherine McNeil (@catmcneil), Kasia Struss (@kasiastruss), Lily McMenamy, Cora Emmanuel (@coraemmanuel), Magdalena Frackowiak (@frackowiakmagdalena), Edie Campbell (@ebcampbell), Svetlana Zakharova (@one_zakharova), Hana Jirickova (@HanaJirickova), Georgia May Jagger (@georgiamayjagger), Julia Frauche (@juliafrauche), Othilia Simon (@othiliasimon), Chiharu Okunugi  (@chiharuuu0515), Suvi Koponen @suviriggs, Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Bo Don, Joan Smalls (@Joansmalls), Marie Piovesan, Maud Le Fort, Cindy Bruna

More Fashion

Like this?
Like Dazed on Facebook