Jil Sander SS14

Pleasing Sander purists with clinical lines, refined texture and subtle deconstruction

Fashion Show
JILSANDER_SS14_19
Tilda Lindstam at IMG Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

Clinical and controlled; stepping into her stride and embarking on new textural territory.  

References: 

Italian conceptual artist Alighiero Boetti, energy fields and random access memory moments. 

Stand out looks:

The painterly prints combining expressionist brushstrokes and a camouflage effect, a pearlescent shift dress and a black satin jacket with the open vents. 

Unexpected details:

Feathers in a Jil Sander show. Harnessed under restraint, of course. 

Accessories:

Sparse and strategically placed - a structured bag with PVC panels mirroring the painterly prints, three-fold leather clutches and wooden sculpted wedges.

Most likely to:

Appease diehard Sander fans with her boxy tailoring and subtle nods to deconstruction. 

Least likely to:

Stand in a uniform line - this was Jil Sander being playful with a random assemblage of different silhouettes. 

Atmosphere:

Precise and finessed - the models walked through perspex panels placed like architectural interventions around the catwalk. 

Soundtrack:

Ambient techno build up composed by Frederic Sanchez. 

Quote of the show: 

Jil Sander's kind of poetry.

Through the looking-glass, back to the material world

Declaration of purity, moving, gazing, craving transcendence

Breezy freshness, airy suspension, joyful serenity

Cybernetic curves and proportions

Jil Sander detail
Jil Sander SS14 Photography by Lea Colombo

Models: Maartje Verhoef (@maartjeverhoef), Elodia Prieto, Kate Goodling (@kategoodling1), Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Nastya Sten (@Kusakina_Nastya), Kai Newman, Paulina King, Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Ine Neefs, Elisabeth Erm, Cici Xiang Yejing, Zoe Huxford (@zoehuxford), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Charlotte Lindvig, Fei Fei Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw), Julia Nobis, Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Maja Salamon, Irina Liss (@irinaliss), Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Esther Heesch (@estherheesch), Sabrina Ioffreda, Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Carla Ciffoni, Josephine Van Delden (@josephinevandelden), Ophelie Guillermand (@ophelieguillermand), Eva Berzina

More Fashion Week