Gucci SS14

In slinky jumpsuits and sporty mesh tops, Gucci take a sojourn through Art Nouveau

Fashion Show
5TP_6907
Ieva Laguna at Women and Elisabeth Erm at Women Getty Images for Gucci

Initial reaction:

A sporty sojourn through Art Nouveau for women who know how to sashay to Giorgio Moroder.

Stand out looks:

The slinky and fluid-looking jumpsuits with deep V-necklines in plain plisse silk or an art nouveau print.  

How they wore it:

Layered up strappy tops and dresses with sporty black bras.  The SS14 domination of the slip dress continues on at Gucci.  

Accessories:

Gucci Bamboo bags dripping with fringing in python, suede and leather.  Shoes strapped up in elastic with cone-style heels.

Most likely to:

Be seen in Marrakesh by wannabe Talitha Getties, hanging out by the Riad pool and shimmering in all that lurex, iridescence and sequin embroidery.  

Least likely to:

Be worn whilst doing any actual sports, despite the nods to activewear.  

Model behaviour:

New girl Amanda Wellsh opening a show, which normally features model heavyweights.  

Soundtrack:

"Reflector" by Arcade Fire

Quote of the show:

“I took activewear essentials as a starting point and set out to create a feminine take on technical outfitting, crafted with Gucci’s codes. Intricate elegance, enlivened by a refined ornamentalism that takes its cue from Erté illustrations.”

Left us wanting:

A strong drink made up of cherry liquor and a dance under the disco ball.  

Gucci detail
Gucci SS14 Getty Images for Gucci

Models: Daria Strokous (@DariaStrokous), Suvi Koponen (@SuviRiggs), Anja Rubik (@anjarubikblog), Andreea Diaconu (@andreeadiaconu_), Kasia Struss (@kasiastruss), Karmen Pedaru (@kpedaru), Natalia Siodmiak (@nataliasiodmiak), Joan Smalls (@Joansmalls), Julia Nobis, Vanessa Axente (@VanessaAxente), Kai Newman, Ava Smith (@Avakattos), Bette Franke (@bette_franke), Sasha Luss (@RealSashaLuss), Maud Welzen (@maudwelzen), Kati Nescher, Amanda Wellsh, Diana Moldovan (@dianalexmol), Elisabeth Erm, Fei Feu Sun (@FeiFeiSunSun), Ieva Laguna (@ieva_laguna), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Katya Riabinkina (@KRIABINKINA), Liu Wen (@LiuWenLW), Nadja Bender (@nadjabender), Zuzanna Bijoch (@BijochZuzanna)

See all our latest features, interviews, and show reports from SS15, as it happens

More Fashion Week