J.W. Anderson SS14

Anderson on the 'avant-bland': Deconstructed classicism, Japanese detail and lots of skin

Fashion Show
IMGP8478
Sam Rollinson at Select Photography Alexandra Waespi

Initial reaction:

In Jonathan Anderson's own words "avant-bland."

References:

Deconstructed classicism with a Japanese sensibility. 

Stand out look:

The artfully concertinaed origami dresses - delicate in detail yet rigid in form.

Unexpected details:

Ghostly sheer squares that appeared to float over the chest.

Innovation:

Rather than draping or cutting to fit, Anderson placed shapes onto the body, or wrapped and tied a whole swathe of material to form a dress.

How they wore it:

Like beautiful mannequins: with little embellishment and very few accessories.

Shoes:

For a collection that attempted a new approach to ‘dressing’ the female form, the shoes were a masculine familiarity: wide, black slip on flats.

Progression:

After the architectural proportions of his menswear SS14 collection, JW Anderson stated that womenswear SS14 would have “a more relaxed structure.” “Something which has rigid elements, but is supported by a softer construction.”

Quote of the show:

“It’s a playful kind of classical beauty mixed with a new sense of the avant-bland.”

Least likely to:

Be wolf-whistled. For so much skin on show, there was a distinct lack of ‘sex’. 

Models: Harleth Kuusik (@harlethkuusik), Maartje Verhoef (@maartjeverhoef), Anouk Hagemeijer (@AnoukHagemeijer), Maja Salamon, Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Josephine Van Delden (@josephinevandelden), Manon Leloup (@manonleloup), Binx (@waltonleona), Betty Adweole (@bettyadewole), Olivia David (@OliviaRDavid), Amanda Murphy, Julia Fuchs (@Juliafrauche), Linn Arvidsson, Irene Hiemstra, Mijo Mihaljcic, Alex Yuryeva, Carla Ciffoni, Malaika Firth (@malaikafirth), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Kayley Chabot (@kayleychabot), Jamily Wernke Meurer, Grace Booth, Madison Leyes, Alexa Yudina (@alexayudina), Sam Rollinson (@samrollinson), Xiao Wen Ju (@jujujuxiaowen), Cristina Herrmann, Maartje Verhoef (@maartjeverhoef), Marine Deleeuw (@marine_deleeuw)

See all our latest features, interviews, and show reports from SS15, as it happens

More Fashion Week