3.1 Phillip Lim SS14

Through the iridescent dust come wood grain jackets, geode psychedelia and shield shades

Fashion Show
PHILIPLIM3.1_SS14_53
Katlin Aas at IMG Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

Both neat and on the rocks.

Atmosphere:

A runway of tiny white rocks. As they walked models literally left us in the dust.

References:

Raw landscapes, geode formations, and our lifelong search for solid ground.

Double take:

An abstract wood grain motorcycle jacket with psychedelic trousers and open toe loafers.

Reminds us of:

What Reno, the female protagonist (and motorcyclist/artist) in Rachel Kushner's novel The Flamethrowers, would wear.

Unexpected details:

Geode lightning prints, shower-wet hair and textured jacquard like an ancient riverbed with flecks of mica.

Key change:

A sudden shift from earthy tones to neon honeydew dresses with crystal necklines.

Make up:

Faint purple iridescence on the cheeks.

Shades:

Dramatic shield-like sunglasses by Linda Farrow.

Immersive experience:

A mountain mist effect made up for the dust inhaled by show goers during the finale.

Reno
The Flame Throwers, Rachel Kushner

Models: Emma Waldo (@waldoemma), Maggie Jablonski (@JablonskiMaggie), Marine Deleeuw, Maddison Brown (@maddbrrown), Valery Kaufman, Nicole Pollard (@nicolepollard), Shu Pei Qin (@Shupeiq), Manon LeLoup (@manonleloup), Joanna Takarta, Senait Gidey (@senaitgidey), Tilda Lindstam (@tildalindstam), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Cristina Herrmann, Julia Fuchs, Emilia Nawarecka (@emilianawarecka), Andie Arthur (@andie_arthur), Hanne Gaby (@hannegabysays), Carly Moore, Nastya Zhidkikh, Yulia Serzhantova, Anna Martynova (@annamartyna), Yumi Lambert (@yumilambert), Mackenzie Drazan (@MackenzieDrazan), Carolina Thaler (@carolinathaler), Tian Yi, Xiao Wen ju (@jujujuxiaowen), Mijo Mihaljcic, Iris Egbers, Grace Mahary (@gracemahary), Kate Bogucharskaia (@foxy1kate), Daga Ziober (@dagaziober), Binx Walton (@WaltonLeona), Vika Volkute, Lauren English (@Laurenenglish_), Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Kel Markey (@kelmarkey), Kremi Otashliyska, Taylor Marie Hill (@taylor_hill), Julia Frauche (@Juliafrauche)

More Fashion Week