Opening Ceremony SS14

Driving ceremony; LA drag race fused with Korean delicacy for the label's NYFW debut

Fashion Show
OC SS14_79
Patrycja Gardygajlo at Next Photography by Lea Colombo

Initial reaction:

2 Fast 2 Furious 2 Fucking Cool.

Milestone:

The first ever Opening Ceremony runway show.

Viral moment:

A fleet of luxury cars file into Pier 57, an unprecedented opener. 

References:

A fusion of LA drag race culture and traditional Korean prints and garments.

Unexpected details:

Misty Mountains and graphic blooms taken from Korea spliced onto racing gear complete with seat-belt straps and tyre tread stripes. Plus, light-catching lucite heels. 

Hair:

Swept back like the girls were sitting in the front seat while the guys burned rubber.

Stand out look:

Good luck picking just one. Start saving.

Left us wanting:

To fasten our seat belts for SS14.

After-party:

The show's conclusion fed right into the after-party's beginning at the OC Super Pier, attended by Rihanna and Justin Bieber and topped off with hot dogs, dub step and a booth with free Tenga x Opening Ceremony Japanese sex toys.

Impact: 

Sports influence is holding fast in New York, pulling not from athleticism but from the street fashion that athletes inspire. 

OC SS14_93
Opening Ceremony SS14 Photography by Lea Colombo

Models: Liu Wen (@LiuWenLW), Marikka Juhler, Patrycja Gardygajlo (@patrycjagardygajlo), Katlin Aas (@AasKatlin), Athena, Charlotte Hoyer, Julia Frauche (@Juliafrauche), Josephine Le Tutour (@JosephineLT_), Caroline Brasch Nielsen (@caroline_brasch), Zlata Mangafic (@zlatamangafic), Esther Heesch (@estherheesch), Nicole Pollard (@nicolepollard), Jeneil Williams (@jeneil1), Julia Frauche (@Juliafrauche), Kel Markey (@kelmarkey), Daphne Velghe, Marta Dyks (@martadixiedyks), Ewa Wladymiruk (@ewawladymiruk), Drake Burnette (@_mamajama), Xiao Wen Ju (@jujujuxiaowen), Amra Cerkezovic, Irina Nikolaeva (@irinanikolaeva), Grace Bol, Maria Bradley  (@maria_bradley), Ji Hye Park (@JiHyePark0206), Marique Schimmel (@mariqueschimmel), Magdalena Jasek (@magdalena_jasek), Yumi Lambert  (@yumilambert), Logan Patterson, Hedvig Palm (@hedvigpa), Sung Hee Kim  (@kimssung2), Grace Mahary (@gracemahary)

More Fashion Week